Following in the impressive footsteps of Sebastian Barry and Anne Enright, Colm Tóibín has become the third Laureate for Irish Fiction, as announced by the Arts Council yesterday morning, 20 January.

The award honours an outstanding Irish fiction writer for their contribution to Irish artistic and cultural life through their work.